Nutrisystem 5-Day Starter Kit + Day 1 Breakfast Food Review


Nutrisystem 5-day starter kit (Red Handle Box)

I purchased 2 of these kits from Walmart.com for under $45 each kit. It cost me just under $100 total with tax. Shipping was free for orders over $50. It was sent via Fedex Home Delivery. I ordered on Tuesday July 30th late morning and it was on my doorstep when I got home from work Thursday late afternoon. I live in Washington State and it was shipped from California. Probably the quickest I have ever received anything from Walmart.com using FREE shipping. The expected delivery date from Walmart was August 11th so I got it 11 days earlier than estimated! 🙂

Aside from the kit I also ordered 4 half cases of Equate Weight Loss chocolate drinks. 48 cans total. These I bought to be my snacks in between breakfast and lunch, and lunch and dinner. It was a lot cheaper than purchasing the Nutrisystem drinks. Each half case contains 12 cans and cost me just under $10 each. Normally I don’t spend this kind of money on myself at all, but the funds were available and I’ve really wanted to try Nutrisystem and see what all the hype is about without ordering a full month’s worth or committing to auto ship. I am a single mother of 3 so I can’t be shelling out $250 a month on diet food. Regardless of what the health and fitness critics might think of this decision…I don’t regret it. I am happy that I will be able to write a detailed blog so that future Nutrisystem starter-kit purchasers know what they are getting into. Hopefully I will be able to lose some weight in the process as well! 😉

The 48 cans of Equate weight loss shakes is much more then I would need for my 2 5-day kits, but I plan to continue dieting for at least another 2 weeks after the kits are completed by eating normal healthy foods and portions. I will use the additional shakes as snacks 2 times a day between meals like I am going to be doing with the Nutrisystem foods.

When you open the kit everything is “nicely” stacked inside the box. I didn’t pay attention to if they put it in order because I immediately pulled everything out to take a look at my “gold”. Everything is individually wrapped. I wasn’t sure what to expect since I didn’t do any research on what the food “looked like” prior to purchasing. I only read reviews on whether people thought it tasted good or not. I thought of the possibility that it would all be a liquid (powdered food) diet like Medifast. It’s not, and I am glad! All of the food is ready to eat! Accept the dinners you actually have to heat in a microwave. So for this meal plan it is on the go food, but at dinner time you will need access to a microwave and a fork.

Inside the box comes a short and simple pamphlet. In the middle of the pamphlet is a chart of exactly which food item you should eat from the box, and when. The very first item on Day 1 for Breakfast is a muffin. In the photo on the package it looks yummy and the flavor is one of my favorites!

I placed everything on the day 1’s list, even my dinner into a plastic bag. I also placed 2 cans of the equate shakes into the bag so that I had my in-between meal snacks. I put it in the car right away so I didn’t forget it in the morning like I do with so many things. Now I had no excuse!

Day 1’s total calorie consumption will be 1210 calories (equate shake calories included). + 5-10 calories from chewing Trident Original Flavor gum to help curve cravings in between meals. Each stick of gum is about 2.5 calories. I estimate 2-4 sticks will be chewed each day.

I got to work about 8:30 and after I turned on my computer I got my muffin out. The package has a ready to eat muffin inside. Cinnamon Streusel is the flavor. The packaging was easy to open. The muffin is small. It’s about the size of a regular cupcake or a muffin that you would bake at home in a regular size muffin pan. Definitely a much smaller portion than probably any other person is accustomed to eating for a meal. The top of the muffin was moist and the rest of the muffin wasn’t to moist or dry. An oxygen absorber packet the “DO NOT EAT” thing was placed underneath the muffin which is probably why the muffin was in such great “condition”! It was a perfect texture. It was as if it was just baked in the last day or so.

The flavor is great! It tastes a lot like cinnamon coffee cakes accept not as sweet. There is still some cinnamon sweetness well blended into the muffin. I would give the taste of this muffin 5 out of 5 stars. If I had a box of these muffins I would probably eat at least 2 in one sitting. So good thing I only had one! I didn’t eat anything today prior to this muffin. I managed to slowly eat it and not devour it. Maybe I just got lucky and my appetite wasn’t going yet. Either way I ate the small muffin over a 15 minute period. I felt satisfied and didn’t have any hunger urges. By 10:15 I still wasn’t hungry even though I was due for a snack by 10:30 (this is a time I set up for myself to keep an even distance in between breakfast and lunch.

My final review on the Nutrisystem Cinnamon Streusel Breakfast Muffin…EXCELLENT! I would recommend this muffin to anyone doing Nutrisystem and I wouldn’t mind eating another one. 🙂 The small muffin has 200 calories and 80 calories are fat. Kind of gives you a wakeup call to how many calories are in those large Costco muffins! Yikes! Ok so 200 calories down, 1010 to go!

Cinnamon Streusel Muffin package

Cinnamon Streusel Muffin package

IMG_3097[1]

Cinnamon Streusel Muffin Nutrition Facts

IMG_3098[1] IMG_3099[1]

Leave a Reply

